NaBloPoMo Halfway Point

Leave a comment

November 16, 2013 by briantshock

Well, here we are in day 16 of this daily blog writing challenge, so this is the home stretch, as it were. Except not really, since there are still 15 more posts to write, so that doesn’t feel like close to being done at all. I thought I’d just take today to write about the experience so far and share with you some of my stats so hopefully the remaining 15 14 posts will be better.

You guys really liked being told about the retail HDMI cables “scam”.

My numbers shot up the day I posted this and for a few days following it. I was getting maybe 15 visitors a day on average before this, and on the day I posted it I had 54 visitors, and 60 the day after that, shattering the record. I also noticed getting views from other countries with this one. The numbers have died down a bit since then, so I suppose I need to find some more “scams” to expose.

Bear Facts are by far my favorite posts to make.

I actually do really like bears, and writing up a weekly thing about bear facts/exaggerations was one of the first ideas I had before I even started this. These have been somewhat popular, but not as much as I would have hoped. That’s not really going to stop me from making more though.

A surprising number of people liked the post about me.

This post got way many more views (and even an official blog “like”) than I expected. I’ve been trying to stay away from just talking about myself, or personal events, since I don’t feel like those are very relatable for many people, but maybe I’m wrong.

Nobody cares about Mike Haggar.

Yeah, I’m not sure what I was thinking with this one. It seemed like a really funny idea as I was thinking about it at work, and I even enjoyed sitting down and writing it, but as I was nearly done I thought, “this is probably not going to be very popular or good.” And I was right! Maybe it was because I posted it late in the day, or maybe because nobody is going to search and find it, or just maybe because it was damn stupid, but this has only been looked at 10 times.

Writing something everyday is hard.

I don’t know how people do it! I aim for at least 500 words a post of mostly on-topic material, and sometimes I find myself struggling to even get that. Plus, I’m rarely finished with a post in advance, so I’m wrapping these up and publishing with hours to spare. I’m kept busy enough and locked down enough at work that I can’t really work on these outside of thinking things out there, so I’m left to do this in the mornings and at night. I’m glad I didn’t go with the novel writing one like I was originally thinking.

Anyway, I’m surprised I’ve made it this far, and I have no doubt I’ll be able to finish this out. What do you guys think about everything so far? What did you like? What did you hate (besides Final Fight video game mayors)?

Leave a Reply

