Mandatory New Years Blog Post 2014 Edition

Leave a comment

January 1, 2014 by briantshock

Happy (Non-Chinese) New Year! It’s the start of a new year, which means it’s time once again for the mandatory blog post outlining all my resolutions and how I “swear to write more in this thing”. While I don’t believe you need to wait for the calendar year to flip to start making changes in your life, I will go ahead and document my plans today, as is in the spirit of things. Hopefully this helps keep me accountable and 2014 ends up being much better than 2013 was.

1) Build a bookcase

Okay, this one is pretty dumb, and probably belongs more on a to-do list than on a list of resolutions meant to impact my life in an amazingly profound way, but I guess that’s why I’m getting it out of the way first. I could just go buy a new one, but I’ve been informed that the Ikea ones look “too cheap” and everything else is just too expensive, so I thought I would use this as an opportunity to use all my tools that rarely see any activity. It can’t be that hard, right?

And let’s be honest with ourselves; when I say “bookcase” I really mean “dvdcase”.

2) Take some kind of music class

In fifth grade I originally had signed up to take violin in the “orchestra”. It was the first kind of class scheduling choice kids got to make in our school system, and I had always wanted to learn an instrument. Unfortunately, to take orchestra you had to skip out on the other rotating class, in this case it was art, which I also wanted to take, though I can’t imagine why. After four months I told the teacher I wanted to quit, and he called me out as a quitter. I felt pretty bad about this, but hey, art class.

This turned out to be a pretty dumb and short-sighted decision. I was always jealous of my friends in high school that could play musical instruments and got to go on all the field trips to perform. I also just wanted to be able to play some music. Right now I’m only limited to singing crude parodies of popular songs in the privacy of my own home. I have a full-sized keyboard that I’ve played around with, but I do not know what I am doing. I was thinking of trying to take some kind of piano classes to remedy that. My main concern is that since I am not eight years old there may not be any classes I can take. Hopefully I’m wrong, otherwise it’s “Piano for Dummies” for me.

3) Strengthen my relationships with people

Making new friends is great, no doubt about it, but lately I’ve felt like my existing relationships have started to fall behind. I’m pretty bad about picking up a phone or sending a text message to set up some plans, or catching up with people who live elsewhere that I haven’t talked to in a while. I’d like to work on changing that this year. I can easily sit around my house and do nothing, but I should be putting myself out there instead of waiting for others to take action.

Because this is appropriate, and I wanted an excuse to bring up “Freaks and Geeks”:

4) Fix this damn house

We bought our house at the very end of 2009. That was now over four years ago. There are still little odds and ends that we are still doing when we have the time but it never seems to end, especially the painting (but you all know my feelings on that). The biggest task is to finish remodeling the kitchen, as the previous owners apparently started it and did not see it through, so it’s something of a work-in-progress.

5) Write more in this thing

I guess I couldn’t get away with leaving this one out. I do enjoy writing this blog, despite my past month of very little activity and interest. I think writing a post a day in November really burned me out, but I’m feeling refreshed so hopefully I’ll be able to contribute more. I know you’re all dying for more of that. Maybe working on some of these other resolutions will give me some blog fodder!

If you subscribe to the whole New Years resolutions thing, what are some of yours?

Leave a Reply

