Real Recipes for Human Beings: Ginger Glazed Mahi Mahi

Leave a comment

January 26, 2014 by briantshock

It happens every time without fail; I look up a new recipe to follow from the internet or a cookbook and I end up having an anxiety attack trying to follow all the directions in a time frame that is conducive to producing a dish that is not completely ruined. The steps provided usually do not give fair enough warning of how long something will take, or what you could safely do while another step is in progress. So because of that, I thought I’d share with you some of my recipes so simple even an idiot can follow them (because he does regularly). This time around: Ginger Glazed Mahi Mahi.

Mahi mahi

I Instagramed this, so you know that’s good!

Well now, we’re getting fancy here, throwing fish into the mix. I’ve always been mistrusting of fish, since it seems like every time I eat it, I either get sick or I have to pick bones out of my teeth, so there’s a pretty disgusting range of outcomes. Surely, it doesn’t have to be this way! I decided to finally overcome my prejudice, and expand my already staggeringly massive cooking skill into a new arena of pescatarian domination.

STUFF YOU’LL NEED

3 tablespoons honey (I recommend the honey that comes in the jar shaped like a bear, because then you have a sweet looking jar.)

3 tablespoons soy sauce (This has got so much sodium in it, so I would suggest the low sodium stuff. Again, my bad blood pressure!)

3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar (There’s so much of this to choose from. First off, you don’t want the balsamic vinaigrette; that is not the same. I used a “white balsamic vinegar of Moderna” because it was cheap and claimed to be a “Product of Italy”, and you KNOW they know what they’re doing!)

1 teaspoon grated fresh ginger root (This thing is bizarre. You can find it in the produce section though. I swear it is edible.)

1 clove garlic (Do not make the same mistake I made years ago and mistake the whole bulb for “one clove”.)

2 teaspoons olive oil

4 (6 ounce) mahi mahi fillets (Okay, this stuff isn’t cheap! If you guys can tell me where I can get this without spending a tidy sum, I’m all ears.)

salt and pepper to taste

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

Rice (I think jasmine rice goes well with this dish. You could try to make your own, but it also comes in the “boil in a bag” variety that is fine. I noticed that one bag was plenty for two large fillets, so if you’re making more you might want to double up.)

GEAR UP

Here’s the equipment you’ll need.

Shallow glass dish (This needs to be big enough to lay each mahi mahi fillet flat. No touching!)

Medium pan or skillet

Plastic wrap

LET’S DO IT

STEP 1 (OPTIONAL) – DRINK ONE OR TWO GLASSES OF WHITE WINE

While this step is optional, I find it helps me with the entire process.

STEP 2 – MIX UP PRACTICALLY EVERYTHING

This really isn’t too complicated a recipe. What you want to do first is mix up the honey, soy sauce, vinegar, ginger root, garlic, and olive oil in the glass dish.

The original recipe calls for the garlic glove to be “crushed” but that wasn’t enough for me; I minced it up and threw that in there. The ginger root isn’t hard to work with, just peel it first and run it over a cheese grater. No probalo!

STEP 3 – SEASON THE FISH

Sprinkle some of that salt and pepper over both sides of that fish. Again, not too much, lest you want to find yourself in prehypertension like me!

STEP 4 – FUGGEDABOWIT

Place the fillets in the glass mixture, skin side down (if the skin is still there), cover with the plastic wrap and refrigerate that for 20 minutes. How you spend this time is up to you, really. Maybe take a quick power nap, or read some more of these great blog posts.

STEP 5 – COME BACK EVENTUALLY

After the time is up and it’s had time to soak in, it’s time to wrap this up. Start heating up your skillet with the vegetable oil on medium-high heat. Depending on how long your rice is going to take, you might want to consider getting that started first, since this won’t take very long.

STEP 6 – FRY SOME FISH

Remove the fillets from the mixture (don’t throw that mixture out though!) and fry each side for 4-6 minutes. You’ll only need to turn it once, so don’t get carried away. If it breaks apart easily with a fork after the frying, then it’s probably had enough time. Move the fillets to a plate.

STEP 7 – EVERYBODY’S DOING THE GLAZE CRAZE

Sorry, that step name was stupid. Anyway, pour the glass dish mixture into the pan and reduce heat to medium. The mixture should thicken up into a glaze after only a few minutes.

STEP 8 – BRING IT ALL TOGETHER

Once the mixture is a nice consistency in the pan, you’re done! Get your rice and fish together and spoon some glaze over it and you’re ready to eat. Pretty easy, right?

—————–

(This recipe was based off of “Ginger Glazed Mahi Mahi” found on Allrecipes.com.)

Leave a Reply

