The Great Vegetarian Experiment, Day 1

2

November 30, 2015 by briantshock

Well, I didn’t exactly come tearing out of the gate with this one. There were some goofs and missteps, but no animals were consumed on this day, so I got that much right.

BREAKFAST

I completely goofed and forgot I was also trying to cut back on carbs when I was preparing my fried egg this morning and popped a whole wheat English muffin in the toaster. Not wanting to let food go to waste, I put some baby spinach and my egg on that bad boy and went to town.

LUNCH

At the end of every month, my work gives out a free lunch at their cafeteria. It’s usually quite terrible, but I was low on food options at home to bring in and the free lunch offers both meat and vegetarian options, so I was fine with that. Fortunately a co-worker coerced me (by merely asking and then leaving me to think on it for about two minutes) to go to an Indian buffet instead. I stayed with the vegetarian options which were many so I definitely did not go hungry. I got a second plate, which I think was a mistake, continuing my perfect streak of pigging out and eating way too much there.

DINNER

I think I redeemed my lunch by keeping it simple and having a large Caesar salad with a few small pieces of bread.

HOW FAT I IS

This morning I weighed in at 160.5. I always weigh in around the same time each day so time should be consistent. My scale is cheap and sucks so it only reports in on the nearest 0.5 pound.

FINAL THOUGHTS

It was only the first day, but it was pretty easy so far. I’ve been asked a few questions today about why am I doing this or what is my end goal. To that I refer them to my original post where I said I had no good reason for doing this. But since that’s kind of a lousy answer I guess I would go with this.

A few months ago, my wife and I did some three week clean eating “cleanse diet” where you basically cut out everything that’s great. It was rough, but I would be lying if I said there weren’t results – I was down to 152.5, my lowest weight since college. But when the three weeks were over, it didn’t take long to start adding things back in and getting back to old habits. I guess with this, I’m just trying to do something else that’s different and new for 3-4 weeks to see what results I can come up with. If I lose weight, that’s great! If I stay around the same but feel like I have more energy (I don’t know if this is a thing that happens or not, I am certainly no nutritionist), then so much the better. The point is to just try out something new to see what works for me and what I can do to hopefully find something that’s more sustainable for the long run.

Anybody else out there that’s done something similar? What were your thoughts and what changes did you notice over time?

2 thoughts on “The Great Vegetarian Experiment, Day 1

  1. glutenfree vegetarian meal ideas says:

    👍🏾congrats day 1. One key is meal prep, never let yourself get too hungry. Carry healthy snacks and try new recipes pretty soon u won’t miss meat at all

Leave a Reply

