The Great Vegetarian Experiment II, Day 2

1

December 1, 2015 by briantshock

Day 2 went much better. We went to the store last night and stocked up on vegetables and pasta and the like so now I’m actually equipped to make some food here.

BREAKFAST

I made some scrambled eggs with a Mexican cheese blend that were pretty great. I’ll probably post what I did some other time. Actually, I can’t remember if I wrote about making scrambled eggs last year at some point, but I’ve improved the process since then anyway. Oh well.

LUNCH

Unbeknownst to me, my wife bought a pack of pita bread.

“What am I going to do with this?!” I yelled, getting more worked up than I should have.

“Keep your voice down! We’re in a store.” She replied. “You can cut up vegetables and put them in here with some salad dressing.”

And that’s exactly what I did! I cut a pita in half and put in some cherry tomatoes, cucumbers, and baby spinach, and ate it with an apple. It was filling for a while but I think I should probably take the whole thing tomorrow.

DINNER

I made this (taking out the pepperoni of course).

Spinach Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

portobello

With sriracha because sriracha.

 

I got really worried because I thought this wasn’t going to be filling, but again, I was surprised. I fully expected to need to go back and eat another cap (I made four) but was fine after just the one.

I also drank a Starr Hill Shakedown Imperial Chocolate Cherry Stout which I gave a 3.5.

HOW FAT I IS

159.0, down from 160.5 yesterday! Again, my scale sucks and rounds to the nearest 0.5 pound, so this is probably not nearly as drastic for one day as it seems, but progress!

FINAL THOUGHTS

I feel like my calorie count was pretty low today, so I think I’m probably safe to eat a little more of this stuff at a time, which sounds fine to me. I need to find some healthy snacks next, I think. I usually keep a can of almonds at my desk at work, but I’m all out so I need to go to the store again anyway. Any ideas for healthy snacks?

 

One thought on “The Great Vegetarian Experiment II, Day 2

  1. Mandy says:

    Good healthy snacks are green apples or pears, veggies and hummus, avocado toast, brown rice cakes and almond butter!

Leave a Reply

