The Great Vegetarian Experiment II, Day 9?

Leave a comment

December 8, 2015 by briantshock

Yeah, I’m still at it, and I am still succeeding at my challenge. I just thought it wasn’t very interesting to just keep posting one or two sentences about what I was eating every day so I would cut back the frequency. Instead I thought I’d share some of the dishes I have been making and eating at home.

Chia Fettuccine with Roasted Vegetables

When we were at the store, we bought some of this stuff.

91fFmNVk87L._SY679_

It really did cook in 3 minutes!

 

It didn’t really look like much from the packaging, but I decided to make it anyway. There was a recipe on the back for preparing it with roasted vegetables that was really easy and ended up being pretty good.

chiafettuccine

Basically, you just toss whatever vegetables you want in a little bit of olive oil (we did red peppers, carrots, and onions) and then roast them on a tray in the oven for about 20 minutes. The pasta cooked in three minutes as promised. It said to save some of the boiling water – a step I scoffed at – but I immediately learned why after it all started sticking together soon after draining. I returned the pasta to the pot and mixed in a little milk and that added some much needed moisture. I threw in the vegetables and it came together quite nicely.

Chickpea and Potato Curry

Even before I started this, we use the Skinnytaste cookbook for the majority of our meals. The recipes are fairly simple, healthy, and (typically) don’t require a bunch of absurd ingredients that have me wandering Harris Teeter (H. Teets) for hours. There is a handful of “meatless mains” recipes in the cookbook that I was looking though and this was one of them.

chickpeacurry

This was pretty tasty though I would do a few things differently if I made it again. I think the potato cubes should be about half the size. I let it all cook the specified amount and they never really softened up enough. By that point I was too impatient to let them cook longer so I took them up, so maybe that’s on me. I also would go ahead and add a chopped chile pepper or two. This was actually in the recipe as “optional” but I decided against it since I wasn’t sure how much kick the spices were going to add.

I would post the recipe here but I couldn’t find it available for linking on the website, so I’d encourage you to check it out if you’re looking for some new things to try.

Skinnytaste

All in all things are going pretty well. My weight is around 157 so that’s a good drop from the beginning of last week. I’m still not making great gains (losses?) but I chalk that up to eating a lot of burritos and regular pasta out. Oh, and probably drinking beer on the weekend. In any case, finding better recipes to try is definitely keeping things fresh and distracting me from the hamburgers I haven’t had in 9 days. Speaking of which, I think it’s time to make some more black bean burgers pretty soon.

Leave a Reply

